From ECApedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Higher education in Hungary

Short overview

The Republic of Hungary, or Hungary (Magyarország), is a landlocked country in Central Europe, bordered by Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia. Since May 2004 it has been part of the European Union. The capital of the country is Budapest.

Types of institutions

The total number of students in the higher education system was 381 thousand in the 2008/2009 academic year. Hungary has 70 operating higher education institutions in 2009: 19 state maintained universities and 10 state colleges, 7 non-state maintained universities and 34 non-state colleges. A number of foreign higher education institutions also offer programs in Hungary. In the 2008/2009 academic year, the total number of foreign students studying in Hungary was 16916, up from 14491 in 2005/2006.

List of recognised higher education institutions in Hungary

Types of programmes

Both universities and colleges may offer courses in all three cycles. A university is a higher education institution that is eligible to provide Master courses in at least two fields of study, and to offer Doctorate course as well as to confer Doctoral degrees. The rules applying to universities offering courses in the field of art or religious education are different from the aforementioned. In addition to the aforementioned, higher education institutions may conduct higher-level vocational training and postgraduate specialist training, as well as can offer adult education within the framework of lifelong learning. Higher education institutions apply a credit system based on the European Credit Transfer System. Accordingly, one credit stands for 30 hours of student workload. Bachelor programs are 180-240 ECTS and Master programs are 60-120 ECTS. The Ministry of Education and Culture is responsible for financing and overseeing all levels of education.

Academic year

The academic year consists of two terms, the spring (February–June) and the autumn (September–January) term. Both terms have a 6-week team period.

Tuition fee

Foreign citizens taking part in foreign language programmes (English, German or French) have to pay a tuition fee. More information on the tuition fees can be found on the homepage of the individual university/college or on the homepage of the National Higher Education Centre

Admission requirements

The precondition for admission to colleges and universities is either a Hungarian secondary school leaving certificate (Érettségi bizonyítvány), or its foreign equivalent, or a degree obtained in higher education.

Overview degree structure

Degree structure-HU.png